unfancified roasted red pepper sauce

Welcome to unfancified!

Thanks for hanging out with me! Get to know me a little better and check out my about page. A riveting read, I promise.

Life’s been a little crazy here: I’m about two and a half months in to the start of getting my MBA and continuing to work full-time. Unfortunately, it hasn’t left much time for me to cook at night, which I noticed was making me not feel as fulfilled as I used to be when I was cooking regularly. So, on my first night off in a while, this happened.

IMG_5470

My unfancified version of Roasted Red Pepper Sauce, that I paired with gluten free pasta and some sauteed shrimp!

It really blew my mind how unbelievably rich it was without any cream, milk, or butter. And there is really nothing more therapeutic then roasting your own peppers. It’s the truest thing I’ve ever written.

IMG_5468

(By the way, I’m a horrific photographer, so bare with me while I learn.)

IMG_5469

Especially now that the cold weather has officially arrived, this dish is perfect for that “stick to your bones” feel without upsetting your tummy. Give it a shot! And for any newbies to the dairy-free world… you’ll never go back after this.

IMG_5471

Roasted Red Pepper Sauce
Dairy-free, gluten-free, vegan
Serves 4

INGREDIENTS
2 red bell peppers
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp gluten-free flour (your preference)
1 large shallot, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups unsweetened original almond milk
Pinch of red pepper flakes
Sea salt and ground black pepper
Chopped basil

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Turn on two of your stove burners to medium-high and place one bell pepper directly over each flame. Using tongs, carefully turn and rotate the peppers until all of the skin is charred black, about 15-20 minutes.

2. Place the charred peppers in a bowl and cover with aluminum foil. When cool enough to handle, take a dry paper towel and wipe away the charred skin, revealing the flesh of the peppers. Cut away the stems and skins and set aside.

3. Add 1 Tbsp of olive oil to a large skillet set over medium-high heat and saute the shallot and garlic until golden and soft. Reduce the heat, season with salt and pepper and stir.

4. Add the clean, roasted peppers to a blender along with the cooked shallot and garlic. Add the almond milk and blend until creamy and smooth.

5. While the mixture is blending, add another Tbsp of olive oil to the pan and add the gluten-free flour. With a whisk, combine the two until a roux forms with no lumps and turns a blonde color, about 2-3 minutes. Pour the mixture into the pan while whisking, until combined. Bring the sauce to a boil and reduce to a simmer until you’re ready to serve.

6. Season with a lot of salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes to your liking. Toss over pasta and finish with chopped basil. Add in the protein of your choice! If the sauce seems a little thick, add some ladles of your boiling pasta water.

Leave a Reply

